The Testimony of a Sinner


Picture 6

I came from a family Christians. It was pretty much expected that you were going to live your life as a Christian in some way shape or form. There are many Deacons, Pastors, Choir directors, and other various church officers in the family and it was expected that at some point you would start moving towards one of these positions yourself.

We were Armenian in our belief holding that we could use our free will to choose to come to God. I too held to this belief and at some point chose to follow the path of sin rather than the path to God. After many years of partying, drugs and alcohol culminating in the death of my wife due to overdose, I found myself on the wrong end of a drug possession charge.

While I was in jail I was compelled to read the bible so I did so cover to cover for the first time. I felt like I had reconnected to God for the first time in years. I knew God was calling me to the ministry so I found myself following that calling. In 2008 I was ordained as an evangelist at the Church of Christ Church that I grew up in. In an effort to shape me as a minister the Pastor handed me a book that would change my life forever.

The book was called “Biblical Preaching: The Development and Delivery of Expository Messages.” It changed the way I read, the way I studied and the way I understood that bible. For the first time in my life I began to understand the weightiness of my sin. I then knew the gospel and my desperate state and need for Jesus in my life. I repented of my sin and put my faith solely in Christ for my salvation.

Today I live my life on the front line spreading that message. The message that God in his sovereignty and his grace made me alive through the death burial and resurrection of his only begotten son Jesus Christ. The message that Christ took our place on the cross. The message that the only way to escape the wrath of almighty God is through his son Jesus Christ. The message that God give grace to wretched sinners like me.

Leave a Reply

